British Roller Derby Championships

British Roller Derby Championships 2016 – Tournament Head Officials Announced!

We are proud to announce our Tournament Head Officials for the British Championships in 2016.

Photo by John Hesse.

Head Referee for the Women’s Tournament is Fu Man Drew. Head Referee for the Women’s Tournament is Fu Man Drew. Fu has been on skates since 2010 and has been selected as Head Referee for local Women’s and Men’s Leagues. Fu keeps a good relationship with local women’s leagues and affiliates with the Midland’s MRDA team, Crash Test Brummies.

Part of the UKRDA Officials Committee, Fu also has MRDA recognition and certification with WFTDA to level 2. Fu officiated at both World Cups in 2014, in Dallas and also in Birmingham where he was a Crew Head Referee. He has much experience as a Tournament Head Referee including several Sur5al events and UKRDA’s flagship event, Tattoo Freeze in 2014. He was also the THR for Heartlands Series in 2012 to 2014 and was the Tournament Head Referee in 2015 for British Championships, Europe’s largest Roller Derby tournament.

Photo by Shirlaine Forrest.

Returning as Head Referee for the Men’s Tournament is SkaBarella. Ska is Head Referee for Manchester Roller Derby and has been offciating since since 2010. She has been a significant figure in officiating Men’s Derby and Head refereed the first intercontinental MRDA regulation derby game and first non-USA MRDA sanctioned game, and was a Crew Head for MEC in 2015. She is MRDA recognised, a MRDA league rep and a UKRDA league rep, and was Tournament Head Referee for the Men’s British Championships for 2015.


Our 2016 Women’s Tournament Head Non-Skating Official is Dr Stevel. Dr Stevel is affiliated with Southern Discomfort Roller Derby and is a WFTDA Level 2 certified official. He is MRDA recognised and has been officiating as an NSO for 2.5 years. He’s worked tournaments in UK, Europe and America, including The Blood and Thunder World Cup 2014, The Big O 2015 and the Men’s European Cup 2014 & 2015.

We’re excited to have returning and new officials to lead the Tournament and grow British officiating for this Tournament and beyond.

We also wish to offer our thanks to Pettichoke for her time, effort and dedication as Tournament Head Non Skating Official for the 2015 Tournament. Her efforts especially at the start of the year, when setting up the structure and organising our marvellous team of 2015 Tier and Divisional Head NSO’s, went a long way to ensuring our successful debut year, and Dr Stevel will benefit from the fine structure that’s in place. Thanks, Petti!

The British Roller Derby Championships is Europe’s largest interleague Women’s and Men’s Flat Track Roller Derby Tournament. Women’s and Men’s leagues from England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland are divided into tiers for double header bout days spanning the year, to find who will be British Roller Derby Champions for 2016!